Chicken Strips

Hello readers…sorry for the inactivity the past few days. Things have been busy, busy around here…cleaning, tidying -> preparing for baby’s arrival any day now (due date was Aug 21). Today I have a few spare moments to write, Thanks to my amazing Sister-in-law. She took our almost-3-yr-old home with her to Cambridge for the day (and night) so that wifey and me can rest-up for the crazy business that will soon settle itself onto our home, once again. Heather has decided to take a nice hot bath (to help ease pain) and I thought I would take these brief moments to at least complete one post, for which I made notes the other day. I have at least one more drafted, which will be up here sometime this weekend…hopefully.

So, on Wednesday, I pulled 4 boneless, skin-on Chicken Breasts out of the fridge. The plan for these breasts was for them to be seasoned, and then sliced up into strips. Heather thought this would make a few easy/quick/throw-together-meals for when baby had arrived.

Here is what I did:

1) placed the 4 breasts into a 10×10 baking dish, as-is (skin on, bones in).

2) chose 4 different seasonings (I went with dried Dill weed, CLUBHOUSE Italiano, INA PAARMAN’s Garlic & Herb–really good–close to being my favourite spice that we have on-hand at the moment, and ROBERTSON’s Chicken Spice.

3) peeled back skin on each piece of chicken, sprinkled ample amount of one spice on each breast, layed skin back over top of the seasoning.

4) drizzled a generous amount of extra-virgin olive oil (cook with this as often as I can….love the stuff…and good for you too) over the tops of the chicken pieces.

4) Checked one of our cook books for recommended baking temperature for bone-in chicken pieces, it said 375°F.

5) Now, because I was sort of just improvising, I didn’t know how long to bake them for. I did 1/2 hr, then another 1/2 hr then, after having checked both times with a meat thermometer, realized that it needed another good shot of oven time. So, because we had to leave for my baseball game in less than an hour, I put them back in for about 35 more minutes. (for those not keeping a close eye, this is a total of 1hr-35mins. When I checked again with meat thermometer they registered at only about 5 degrees under where poultry should be. I knew that would be good enough because, from previous experience in kitchens, I knew that meat will continue to cook for a while once removed from the oven.

I then placed the whole dish in the refrigerator.

When we got home from my baseball game, I removed the skin and bone, and then sliced the pieces up into strips (well, the strips really didn’t turn out too well because the chicken was well done and, therefore, basically just crumbled..perhaps a little over done for your liking, but Heather’s family like meat a bit dry. I’ve grown to like it too–even though my true love is a really nice medium-rare steak! haha)

I will keep my next blog (when I put the first container of strips, the dill ones, to use in a pasta dish) separate from this one.

If you try this one, Enjoy! They are tasty!!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

