Hello World!

So, here we go. I’ve just come up with this idea today. I’ve tossed around some ideas in my mind about what I actually want to do with this blog. I’m not a food critic, by any means, but I DO like to eat…if you know me, you know that is true. My lovely, sweet wife tells me that I don’t have refined taste, and that Ipfood.chatelaine.com/Recipes/View/Cucumber-fennel-picklesfood.chatelaine.com/Recipes/View/Cucumber-fennel-pickles think everything I eat is good. Perhaps there is some truth to that. I will admit that I’m not very picky, perhaps because I was raised to not complain about what was on my plate, and to finish what was on that plate…especially if I wanted any hope of getting any dessert.

You may be surprised, even those who think they know me, there ARE some foods I don’t like. For example, Zucchini, Cucumber (unless they’re pickled), and liver. I ‘like’ pretty much everything else you can find in the average North American home’s cupboard, fridge, or pantry.

Enough about me, let’s get to the food. At this stage, in the first post, I think I will just blog about what/where I eat…if it is worthy of mention (in my opinion). So, without further ado…I welcome you, lover of food, to PHILanthropy of Phood!

Today’s Lunch:
We did what millions of other Christians do after church on Sunday, Went to Swiss Chalet. For those of you who are not aware, they’re really promoting their ribs right now. They have a buy a half rack meal-get a free 1/4 chicken deal at the moment. My Father-in-law and I both got that. Let me tell ya, they were pretty tasty! Except for the one edge seemed a little under-done, so a little tough. So, definitely not the best ribs I’ve had, but not bad for a chicken joint.

At home-made pickles:
My wife, Heather, has been enjoying being back in Niagara for a few reasons, not the least of which being around so much produce again. She has made a whole bunch of jams (strawberry, raspberry, blueberry, and peach – my favourite)

Heather’s latest creation was/were Cucumber-Fennel Pickles which she read about in an issue of Chatelaine Magazine.
THESE LITTLE GUYS ARE REALLY GOOD!  Nice job Sweetie. Btw, you don’t have to use what they say to use (fennel, or caraway seeds). For instance, Heather used dill because she knows her hubby really likes it, and we don’t have the other two on hand 😉

Well, there it is…first phood blog complete.  Enjoy, pass it on to others if you DO like it.

Thanks for reading, see you the next time I eat something about which it is worthy to blog.

Bon Appetit!

One response

Leave a Reply

